Advent is the traditional season of observance and celebration of Christ’s birth. It calls us to both remember Jesus birth and also to look forward to His return.

The Advent Wreath has 5 candles. One for each of the 4 Sundays preceding Christmas Day and the 5th one for Christmas day.

HOPE  Candle 1

The 1st  Sunday of Advent sets the tone for the season by remembering the hope of the Savior who was born at Christmas, and also looking forward to the hope of the return of Jesus Christ.

Christian believers are called to refocus themselves with hope, watching and waiting for Christ’s return while thanking Him for His coming at His birth.

JOY Candle 2

The second candle celebrates the joy of the shepherds in the arrival of God’s kingdom and His salvation. It reflects the Christian’s joy as followers of Jesus.

LOVE Candle 3

The 3rd candle reminds us of the love of Christ in His willingness to come from Heaven to be our Savior. Nothing can separate us from His love. We are encased in it and we are to give it away to those around us.

PEACE Candle 4

The 4th candle represents the peace Christ’s coming brings to our lives and the future peace that His return will bring for eternity.

JESUS is represented by the 5th candle in the middle of the wreath.

When Jesus is the center of our hearts and our lives we reflect the glory of His hope and love and joy and peace to those around us, as we await His return.


Want to Read More About Advent? Check these posts out:

Family Focused Advent Activities

Why Advent?

Written by Gail Rodgers

Gail Rodgers

Gail Rodgers enjoys writing and applying the truths of the Bible to
everyday living. She and her husband live in Alberta, Canada and enjoy working together, traveling and spending time with their grown family.
Please visit Gail Rodgers’ website at